

# Guitar Ensemble and World Drumming Ensemble



December 9, 2024 Performing Arts Center Anoka-Ramsey Community College Coon Rapids, Minnesota

### Guitar Ensemble

Directed by Dr. Jason Vanselow-	F	
Sonata L. 58	Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757) arr. Mark Anthony Cruz	
Four Moods	Stepan Rak (b.1945)	
Bossa Do Brasil	Annette Kruisbrink (b.1958) David Schmalenberger+, percussion	
Au Privave	Charlie Parker (1920-1955) David Schmalenberger+, percussion	
Chora a tua tristeza	Oscar Castro Neves (1940-2013) David Schmalenberger+, percussion	
<u>Guitar Ensemble</u>		
	Travis Bruns*	
	Johnathon Cuscaden	

Eric Johnson

Kendall McCann\*

Sam Bergstrom+

\* AFA Music Majors + ARCC Faculty

## World Drumming Ensemble

Directed by Dr. David Schmalenberger+	
Malivata—hunters dance music	Wamakua people of Tanzania
Gahu—social dance music	Ewe people of Ghana
Circle Dance—childrens' game song Agbekor—warriors dance music	Ghana Fon people of Dahomey (Benin)
Batucada—traditional parade drumming	Brazil
Bawaa—ceremonial dance music	Dagaare people of Ghana
Calypso—popular song style w/ improvised lyrics Mambo—social dance music	Trinidad Cuba
Kpatsa—social dance music	Ga people of Ghana

#### World Drumming Ensemble

Brenden Adolfson

John Hanson IV

Kendall McCann\*

Sam Noh

Brandon Turner\*

Dr. David Schmalenberger+

\* AFA Music Majors + ARCC Faculty

# **Register Now for Spring 2025!**

www.anokaramsey.edu/music www.arccmusic.com Contact us at music@anokaramsey.edu

# **Special Thanks**

Anoka-Ramsey Music Faculty: Melissa Bergstrom, Sam Bergstrom, Jason Vanselow, Scott Agster, Jake Baldwin, Matthew Bertrand, Brendon Bushman, Scott Johnson, Liz Kuivinen, Laura LeVoir, Rebecca Luttio, Kameron Markworth, Anastasiya Nyzkodub, Joel Salvo, Dave Schmalenberger, Megan Small, and Danielle Vinup.

We would also like to thank the students and staff at Anoka-Ramsey, as well as members of the community for their continued support of the performing arts at this institution. Special thanks to: Peter Lerohl, Sheila Provost, Ann Worwa, Jon Kleba, our deans: Hannah Oliha-Donaldson, Mike Opoku, and Lisa Harris, Vice-presidents Robert Perez, and Brandyn Woodard, and College President Kent Hanson.

Anoka-Ramsey is a fully accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music.